Viewing News

October 5, 2020

Liquid Sunlight Alliance

The Liquid Sunlight Alliance was founded in 2020, and is directed by Professor Harry Atwater. It is one of two projects in the Fuels from Sunlight Energy Innovation Hub funded by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Basic Energy Sciences. The vision is to establish the science principles by which coupled microenvironments directly […]

Read More
May 28, 2020

Ognjen Ilic selected to receive the 2019 MRS Bulletin Postdoctoral Publication Prize

MRS Bulletin is pleased to announce that Ognjen Ilic has been selected to receive the 2019 MRS Bulletin Postdoctoral Publication Prize. This award recognizes postdoctoral researchers for their intellectual merit, the impact of their research and scholarship, and their interest in science writing and communication. Ognjen was selected from among numerous well-qualified applicants and nominations for “his outstanding academic […]

Read More
March 22, 2019

Harry Atwater receives 2019 IEEE William Cherry Award

Prof Harry Atwater has been named the 2019 IEEE William Cherry Award winner for outstanding achievement in the field of photovoltaics. The award will be presented at the 46th IEEE Photovoltaic Specialists Conference (PVSC) in June. You can read more about the award and Prof Atwater here.

Read More
December 6, 2018

Harry Atwater named SPIE Fellow

Prof Harry Atwater is one of 88 SPIE members selected to become Fellows of SPIE in 2019. This honor will be celebrated on February 4, 2019 at a luncheon at Photonics West in San Francisco. You can read more here.

Read More
May 30, 2018

Cora Went named Thomas Tombrello Scholar

Atwater graduate student Cora Went was named a Thomas Tombrello Scholar and will be honored alongside other awardees at the Physics Year-End Celebration and Awards Banquet on May 31. Prof Tombrello was a Robert H. Goddard Professor of Physics and the Physics, Math and Astronomy Division Chair before he passed in 2014. The Thomas Tombrello Scholar […]

Read More
May 29, 2018

ETC Solar wins grand prize for the FLOW DOE Cleantech business plan competition and DOD award

The FLOW DOE Cleantech competition serves as a regional gateway for entry into the DOE’s Cleantech national competition. ETC Solar (comprised of Thomas Russell, Staff Researcher in the Atwater group and Rebecca Saive, Assistant Professor at the University of Twente, the Netherlands, and former Atwater postdoc and senior research scientist) was awarded the DOE grand prize of $50K […]

Read More