Latest News

January 28, 2022

Congratulations Melissa Li!

Melissa was awarded a “Best Student Oral Presentation” award in symposium EQ20 “Beyond Graphene 2D Materials – Synthesis, Properties and Device Applications” at the Materials Research Society 2021 Fall Meeting in Boston, MA.

Read More
November 15, 2021

Congratulations, Prof. Atwater!

Professor Harry Atwater has been awarded the 2021 Von Hippel Award. The Von Hippel Award, the Materials Research Society’s highest honor, recognizes those qualities most prized by materials scientists and engineers—brilliance and originality of intellect, combined with vision that transcends the boundaries of conventional scientific disciplines.

Read More
May 4, 2021

Congrats Prachi Thureja

Congratulations Prachi on winning the Facebook Fellowship Award 2021 under the category of AR/VR Optics and Photonics.  

Read More
April 15, 2021

Congrats Joeson Wong

Congratulations to Joeson Wong for winning an MRS Graduate Student Gold Award for the 2021 Materials Research Society Graduate Student Award competition!

Read More
April 15, 2021

Congrats to Komron Shayegan

Kudos to Komron Shayegan, recipient of the 2021 National Science Foundation graduate research fellowship!

Read More
October 5, 2020

Liquid Sunlight Alliance

The Liquid Sunlight Alliance was founded in 2020, and is directed by Professor Harry Atwater. It is one of two projects in the Fuels from Sunlight Energy Innovation Hub funded by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science, Basic Energy Sciences. The vision is to establish the science principles by which coupled microenvironments directly […]

Read More
May 28, 2020

Ognjen Ilic selected to receive the 2019 MRS Bulletin Postdoctoral Publication Prize

MRS Bulletin is pleased to announce that Ognjen Ilic has been selected to receive the 2019 MRS Bulletin Postdoctoral Publication Prize. This award recognizes postdoctoral researchers for their intellectual merit, the impact of their research and scholarship, and their interest in science writing and communication. Ognjen was selected from among numerous well-qualified applicants and nominations for “his outstanding academic […]

Read More
March 22, 2019

Harry Atwater receives 2019 IEEE William Cherry Award

Prof Harry Atwater has been named the 2019 IEEE William Cherry Award winner for outstanding achievement in the field of photovoltaics. The award will be presented at the 46th IEEE Photovoltaic Specialists Conference (PVSC) in June. You can read more about the award and Prof Atwater here.

Read More
December 6, 2018

Harry Atwater named SPIE Fellow

Prof Harry Atwater is one of 88 SPIE members selected to become Fellows of SPIE in 2019. This honor will be celebrated on February 4, 2019 at a luncheon at Photonics West in San Francisco. You can read more here.

Read More